Spicy Day

2012-11-05 028 Into Glasgow we went yesterday.  I had an appointment about my national insurance and while there, we found a new source for spices.  It was what seemed to be a mostly African import foods shop.  They had a whole shelf full of large containers of spices in different mixtures.  I decided to start with a simple basic mixture type and the one I have used for many years, but have not found in the last 10 years or so…Vegeta.  One of my all time favourite seasonings.  This lot came to £10, which is far cheaper than the £3 we pay for a 65g lamb spice jar at Sainsbury.  I now know a number 23 or 26 bus will take me from my door to the shop.  Perfect.

 

Husband at first wanted to stop to pick up fish and chips for dinner, as he was in a celebratory mood, but as we had plenty of time to get home and prepare dinner, the idea was dropped much to my relief.  Being the day I was determined not to swim in the sea of carbs, it was one less situation to deal with.  We managed to look at all the candies and teacakes at the Pound Store to get ideas of what to send the grandchildren for Christmas without buying anything for ourselves.  Even though the day held anxieties over the appointment, it ended well.  I made cumberland sausages and savoy cabbage for dinner and the only extra bit was a single small Bailey’s chocolate drop with evening coffee.  I was so pleased that a day that was about to head in the wrong direction was smoothed out nicely.  I ate three porringers of low carb foods and was happy.

2012-11-05 009 I took a few other photo’s while in Glasgow, I liked the ship on top of this cupola. 

2012-11-05 010 I was actually more interested in the swans, but they are hardly visible.  This is the River Clyde.  We live next to it too.

2012-11-05 012 Even with a zoom I was unable to capture the swans. 

2012-11-05 014This was fun…the Ladies Waiting Room.  See the building in the back? 

2012-11-05 016 There was a lion and unicorn!  I immediately remembered my favourite book’s version, from Alice in Wonderland/Through the Lookinglass:

7.4

 

`The Lion and the Unicorn were fighting for the crown:
The Lion beat the Unicorn all round the town.
Some gave them white bread, some gave them brown;
Some gave them plum-cake and drummed them out of town.’

 

The day passed fine and I felt I was sitting in a good place about eating, I watched a few YouTube video’s on disordered eating and several light-bulbs went off in my head, a few more dots were connected and I will be writing about it in my next post.

Leave a Reply

