First Day Done

The first day on low carb was not at all difficult to get through.  I had to go to the shops for a few items, and although ED tried to nudge me a few times, I was just not really under his spell.  I needed to buy the wine we drink at dinner, and I did longingly look at the cognac, brandy, dark rum and whisky, remembering favoured drinks.  If the price wasn’t so high I would have probably bought a bottle.  I know we are getting whisky closer to Christmas, so I reminded myself to just relax and get myself back to where I feel better and don’t let the cravings develop.  So I bought only what was on the list and I was fine. 

001

porringer 2

Thursday’s Meals:
Porringer 1- 2 eggs, 2 rasher, 2 cups coffee with double cream
Porringer 2- remainder of Wed night’s dinner that I could not finish: minced beef and cauliflower, pot of tea
Porringer 3- 250g plain full fat yogurt, raw peanuts, pot of tea
Porringer 4- chicken breast, ham, swede, carrots in a carbonara sauce with a dash of cheese, 1 glass wine
2 cups coffee with double cream

Dinner was fabulous, we both loved it.  Something about the mixtures of flavours.  I will make that one again.  I tried working on the holiday menus but I am sort of at a loss about whether or not to have desserts.  I think it would be fun to make one, but we have no flours, sugars or baking items in the cupboard and if I start investing in the items, it would mean leftovers which only perpetuate baking.  I had seen cakes in the bakery windows in small individual portions, I think that may be an option.  Homemade is always better, but I seem to be moving away from this more often than not.  We both are sensitive to the extreme carb intake of desserts.  So that is still in the process of being sorted.  I have decided to make a roast beef for Christmas, one marinated in Guinness and garlic, roasted root veggies and stuffed mushrooms.  For New Years, a lamb roast for husband and cod for me with creamed spinach.  I do limit the amount of time I give to these thoughts, as I know the dangers of getting too food involved.  A simple menu is best and let the holiday take on other meanings besides eating. 

I feel okay, although yesterday I did have tightening in the chest and difficulty breathing for awhile.  That came from being out in the cold.  It took me a long time to warm up after being outside.  My mood is also fine, not down in a depressive state.  I am not having any resentments about eating, not thinking restrictions or dieting or bingeing thoughts.  I good day I suppose. lol.

007

One thought on “First Day Done

  1. ephemeral says:

    glad things seem to be going well.

Leave a Reply

