Copper Bowl

Yesterday’s Meals:

Porringer 1-     2 eggs, 2 rashers, 2 cup coffee with 4 tsp double cream
Binge-        2 pots of tea, 2 rolls (one with butter, one with butter and cheese), 1/4 small bag tortilla crisps, 5 bread sticks, 6 chocolate chip cookies
Porringer 2-     glass of wine, minced beef, cauliflower with butter

Evening coffee- 2 cup coffee with 4 tsp double cream, 3 chocolates, 5 breadsticks

I already wrote about the sorta-kinda binge yesterday so I will move on from that.  It was wasted effort, I became aware of just how bloated I am, how massively I am retaining fluids.  I took off my socks last evening and was shocked to see the indentation, I have not had it that bad for a long time.  So even while the binge was not huge, the side affects are enough to scare me into dropping it as soon as possible.

The copper bowl.  I had left it on the kitchen counter in plain view.  I knew it would be a bit of an issue, spending money on yet another bowl, but I did not want to hide it.  After dinner, while I was playing the medication charades, husband did the dishes and washed it.  I had eaten out of the porringer for dinner, so that this morning I decided to just get it over with (a new policy I am working on) and put my breakfast in the copper bowl and set it on the table.  He looked at it and said nothing.  During breakfast, I had the strong urge to pick it up and hold it in the palm of my hand while eating, so I did.  I loved how it felt, the weight of the warm bowl, the nurturing aspect of eating from the hand rather than the table.  Husband looked up and saw what I am sure his traditionalist’s mind saw as bad table manners to eat this way.  I ignored it and continued to eat, really sensing the return of an old friend.  I use to eat this way and feel so peaceful.  The shape and feel of a bowl really is far more important that the look.  I glanced over at the pewter bowl and admired how pretty it is, but it lacks connectedness.  Wow, am I really writing like this?  lol.  Me, the stoic?  I sound like a tree hugger these days!

005

This morning’s breakfast aftermath. Husband finally made a comment about the new bowl when we finished eating: found yourself a new bowl? I smiled and said, you know I have a bowl fetish.  I immediately said it was bigger than the other bowl and he immediately said that was a good thing, it made no sense to eat too little and be hungry.  Which made me smile again, because I know it has bothered him to see the bowl size difference between us.  This bowl is deep and appears larger than the porringer and so it is like another little secret between me and the bowl.  That double walled insulation gives the bowl a mightier look.  Husband is still using the plate he used on the truck, deep enough to keep the food from slipping off the plate.  The large rim gives it a much larger look without really holding that much more.  He eats the same foods as I do (larger portions), only potatoes are added to his bowl that I do not eat.  it seemed a settled issue for now, so I no longer feel I need to break the bowl news to him.

004

I drank tea out of the stainless steel mug last night and will try that a few more times.  The mug holds 1 1/2 of the cups of liquid of the cup above.  This means I could drop the 2 cups of coffee twice a day down by one whole cup, which means a savings on the cream too.  I have been wanting to cut the coffee down a bit, this may be a better idea for now.  Baby steps of change, I guess.

I tried looking for more of these type bowls for information on them but haven’t found anything yet.  It does not appear to be vintage, the inner surface is not scratched up from frequent use.  It doesn’t have the potential history of my French porringer, but it sure has a nice balance to it, a more inviting look and it is marvellous. 

Leave a Reply

